Chicken-Crock-Pot-Pie

Hey Crockheads,

Remember a couple months ago when I thought it was a good idea to try the 1 Day Cleanse? Well, the best part of that cleanse was breaking into my fridge circa 8pm, diving fork first into cold Chicken-Crock-Pot-Pie left overs straight from the crock. Words can not explain the satisfaction that came from relieving my starving body from this torture that I inflicted upon myself. Oh and paid money for. Not only did the Chicken-Crock-Pot-Pie revive my body and taste like the best damn thing on this Earth, but It held the same truth the night before when I wasn’t dying. My point being, this recipe is delicious in all situations, famished or not.

IMG_0024

Ingredients
1.80lb boneless skinless chicken thighs
1 onion-diced
1 sweet potato-cubed
Poultry seasoning-couple shakes
Salt and pepper- couple shakes
1 bay leaf
1 can of chicken gravy (I used 12oz but would recommend using 18oz)
Chicken stock- splash
Milk-splash
2 celery stocks-diced
1 family sized bag of Green Giant frozen mixed vegetables
Pillsbury Flaky Layers frozen biscuits

IMG_0001

Directions: Place chicken thighs on the bottom of your crockpot.IMG_0003 IMG_0002Add the diced onion, sweet potato, poultry seasoning, salt and pepper, and the bay leaf.
Pour on top the chicken gravy and add in the splash of chicken stock and milk. Next cover the mixture with the diced celery and set the crockpot for 5-6 hours on low. IMG_0009After the allotted time, remove the chicken from the crockpot and shred it apart with two forks. The thighs will most likely fall from you fork very easily as they will be extremely tender. Place the chicken back in the crockpot and add in the frozen vegetables. Cook for about another hour on low. IMG_0014Finally, 15 minutes prior to serving time bake your Pillsbury biscuits and serve immediately.

IMG_0022I served the Chicken-Crock-Pot-Pie in bowls with the crockpot stuffing sandwiched between two biscuit halves. The biscuits absorbed the delicious chicken juices and vegetables while adding the perfect buttery and crispy contrast. I have always made and eaten Pot Pies in some type of casserole dish from an oven, so I happy to know my crockpot could play this game too. The stuffing turned out just as hearty and the chicken was certainly more tender since it was slow cooked. I’ve realized using boneless skinless chicken thighs you can’t go wrong. My only suggestion would be to use even more chicken gravy than I did, because the creamy the better right?

My guest for this meal were Fallon, Katie Julia, and Danielle. Fallon started off our Crockpotuesday dinner with a spicy sausage dip, or as I have named it, “Fals Fancy Dip.’ The best way to eat this dip is straight out the bad boy as seen below!IMG_0029To finish off dinner, Katie made a ridiculous dairy and gluten free fudge that she served over vanilla bean ice cream. I literally had to close my eyes as I experienced this amazing chocolate dissolve in my mouth.

IMG_0027Looking at the big picture, I guess life is pretty good if you have can have Fal’s Fancy Dip, Chicken-Crock-Pot-Pie, Fudge, Wine, and friends all in the same night.

Oh and Freckles!IMG_0022

Peace out Crocks

 

6 thoughts on “Chicken-Crock-Pot-Pie

Leave a comment