Butternut Squash Soup

Mis Amigos! Thank y’all for coming back. This past CROCKPOTTUESDAY was butternut squash soup. I decided to make this specifically for my girl Crystal because she is a vegetarian. Also her boyfriend just left for SEA to get his boating license so he can drive really really big boats so we gotta keep this girl occupied while Robert is far away! Crystal and I work together at the Carlyle Hotel up here in New York. We are pretty much twins and no one can tell us apart….which we don’t really get because she’s 6 ft tall…and i’m 5’6…yea it makes no sense.  But here is a picture for yall to decide yourself:

(okay…..maybe we look-alike a little…)

So after work on Monday, I headed down to my spanish grocery store and bought:

  • 2 butternut squash
  • 2 apples
  • 2 onions
  • 5 cups of vegetable broth
  • and ground cinnamon, coriander, cloves, salt, and pepper

Tuesday morning I got up and started cooking around 11:45am. I put on my awesome new seafoam apron that Eliza got me, turned on the Aretha Franklin pandora station, and got out my chef’s knife. Now let me tell ya, (katie….now let me tell ya something) butternut squash are hard as rocks to cut open! I tried to microwave them for about 4 minutes so I could first peel the skin off to make it easier, but this was stupid and didn’t really do anything.  Finally once I had both peeled, I cut them in half and scrapped out all the seeds.

IMG_0010_2IMG_0001_2

Then I cut the squash into cubes and roasted them in the oven with olive oil for about 15 minutes to make them tender. Meanwhile, I had cooking  in the crockpot the cut apples, cut onions, vegetable broth and all the spices. And yall this was already smelling sooooo good. When the squash was ready, I threw it in the pot and then turned the bad boy on low for 7 hours. Then I went to central park with Eliza and laid out in the beautiful sun.

7 hours later I had my first disaster. Let me just say I am in great need of a large food processor. I have a tiny one that is maybe 1 1/2 cups, which really does no good at all. So imagine me transferring my crockpot soup into the little food processor in order to puree it and how many freakin’ trips I’m having to do. Now if you know me, I am very impatient and tend to break down sometimes. So at this point I am getting so frustrated. Crystal is telling me to breath and drink my wine. I then pull out an electric beater and decide to try puree the soup this way while it’s in the crock pot. And I feel like I have a jack hammer in my hand.  Whatda ya freakin know- shit goes everywhere. I’m pissed. THEN I try the soup and its gross. I’m really flippin out at this point. What do I do? Call my dad. This is kind of how it went down:

Me: DAD! COOKING EMERGENCY! My soup is awful and all my guest are here!

Dad: (laughs)  pour everyone another glass of wine.

Me: they’re already drinking! seriously it needs a kick what do i put it in!

So then he tells me to make some croutons by heating up some olive oil in a large skillet and throwing in some cut up bread. He was on the way to Cellar on Green, the wine bar I used to work at, and he said he would ask them there if anyone had suggestions. So then I get a call back that butter would do the trick. So ew girl did I throw some butter in there.  I was still so upset because I had made this recipe before with sweet potatoes instead of apples and it was soooo good, but I figured apples would be just as good and more summer appropriate.  So then I let it cook for a little longer, warned everyone, and then started to prepare the soup in bowls. I put sour cream on top, the croutons, and green onions. It got a little better and everyone said they liked it…being nice I think…but Mason and Eliza did have seconds.  We also had delicious chicken salad sandwiches, courtesy of Caitlin and Russell, bruchetta from Eliza and Crystal, and a BIRTHDAY CAKE from Mason for Eliza. Oh and lots of wine.

So successful? Every cook in the making has to have one of these days right? But of course the whole point is to enjoy the company of friends and have a fun night which we definitely did! And a very happy birthday to Eliza 🙂

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Before you lose some fingers with the chef’s knife on the butternut squash, maybe just cut the squash lengthwise and roast In a 450 oven. When done just scoop out the flesh with a spoon. This avoids any peeling and keeps chopping to a minimum. Someone once said there is two kinds of cooking in the world: with and without fat. ( I think it was me who said that). What I mean is that some times its easy to get a tasty result if you just add enough butter or oil, etc. For the bland butternut soup try adding some cream and a little salt. That will goose anything. Maybe some garlic with a little parsley. Make sure to cook long enough to intensify the flavors. What’s cooking for next week? Jk

    Like

Leave a Reply

