Creamy Chix and Garden Soup

Hola Amigos,

Hope everyone is good and I want to start off by saying I miss all of you so much! I start to really miss the south when it gets cold up here…and can I just mention that it FREAKIN’ SNOWED ALL DAY YESTERDAY! And not just -yea some flurries here and there..I’m t-a-l-k-i-n’ blizzard. I walked outside in my little jacket thinking I would be fine and I clearly have forgotten what a down pour of snow feels like- this was definitely a very early wake up call.  It’s crazy to me because number one, it is October, and number two, does this mean we just skip over fall?  Last week was so warm and nice and now all of a sudden we are jumping to winter?…this is ridiculous.

So this leads to why when I got out of work today I decide I needed a creamy hot type of soup for dinner. I went to my real* grocery store and got:

  1.  A bag of frozen stir fry vegetables
  2. A cup of frozen corn and peas
  3. 1 zucchini, sliced
  4. boneless skinless chicken breast
  5. chicken broth
  6. uncooked egg noodles
  7. a cup of half-and-half
  8. thyme and parsley
  9. butter
  10. and salt and pepper and minced garlic

First coat your crockpot with spray or butter and then place the stir fry veggies, the corn and peas, and the sliced zucchini in the bottom. Then add your chicken, salt, pepper, garlic, broth, and thyme. I let this all cook for about 3 1/2 hours on high. (TIP: occasionally stir so chicken is always in the broth so it doesn’t dry out.) After all of these things cooked, I turned the crockpot down to warm and let it sit while I cooked the egg noodles on the stove. I also took out the whole pieces of chicken breast, shredded them, and put them back in the crockpot. Once the noodles were done, I transferred them to the crockpot and added the half-and-half, butter, parsley, and some more salt and pepper.

This was actually really good and I was surprised because I thought I had dried out the chicken. You definitely have to be careful about that and be sure to stir it every once in a while. I did not do this, but I think what saved me was shredding the chicken and then putting it back in  to soak. Also at the store I bought  little roasted garlic bagel crisp, which were really good broken up in the soup.

The good thing about this meal is I have lots of left overs ..so….YALL COME UP HUR AND GET SUM!

Successful? yes

6 thoughts on “Creamy Chix and Garden Soup

Leave a Reply

