Tortellini Italian Soup

Ciao crockheads!

I’ve noticed that more of the people reading this blog are starting to get crockpots  and that really excites me. Its kind of funny to me though that I specially am being associated with crockpots. Whenever one of my friends gets one, they immediately tell me, “Susu I got a crockpot!!!”  or like  the other day, my boss at work got one and told me we had something very important to talk about. I braced myself only to hear her say she couldn’t believe I was a big crockpotter and she didn’t know about this. It has now spread  around the hotel- “oh you should check out susu’s crockpottuesday blog!” It’s definetly a good feeling and I feel like I have accomplished the goal of spreading the love of crockpots around. I do feel like I have higher standards to meet though with this thing now, but good news for me, its pretty freakin’ easy because the crockpot does most of the work!

This evening I decided I wanted a nice soup since its getting cold-practically snowing off and on. I looked through  my crockpot book and found something right up my alley. I went to the store and bought:

  • 2 bags of 14oz cheese tortellini pasta
  • frozen bag of green beans
  • 1 can of white beans
  • 2 cans of chicken broth
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1onion
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 zucchini
  • mushrooms
  • basil, cumin, salt, pepper

So to prep for the soup I diced up the onion and green pepper and put them in a frying pan with some olive oil. I cooked them about 7minutes until the onion was clear.

Meanwhile I put in the crockpot the rest of the ingredients.

Then I transferred the cooked onion and pepper to the crockpot and stirred everything together. I let this cook for 3.5 hours on high ( didn’t have time to do the 7 hours on low). After I put in the tortellinis and lets them cook for about 20 minutes (they seemed to cook through very quickly.) Then I turned the crockpot to WARM and added salt, pepper, basil, and cumin to taste.

This soup was MOLTO BUONA! This is definitely something anyone could do and be proud of. I served it with a baguette from Eli’s bakery that was made with parmesan cheese. I just sliced it and put some olive oil over it, stuck it in the oven at broil, and wahla- perfect dipping side.

If any of you New Yorkers wanna come over for seconds I have plenty 🙂

Guest: Crystalina

Success: yes, try it yourself.

Leave a Reply

