Improved Butternut Squash Soup

We’re baaaaaack! Hello my crockheads!

Sorry for the delay, I had a little dry spell because I was a little busy (okay a little lazy) but now I’m back in the kitchen and ready to share my latest with you. I also plan to catch you up on my restaurant experiences along the way because if you know me…you know I am always taking pictures of my food at restaurants with the intentions of writing about them. I have a long list to share so stay tuned for that..

As for now-I HAVE A NEW GADGET!!! For Christmas, my dad got me a Cuisinart and I am in love. Yall, yes yes yes get a crockpot…but omg get a cuisinart this thing is literally insane. Put a carrot in it= chopped in a second, put a whole onion in it= chopped in a second, no tears. It’s so much fun just to see what will happen, its your own kitchen Jack-in-the-box. I’ve learned about myself that yes I like to cook, but I like to cook simple with things that help do the work… AKA make cooking easy.

So I’ve been under the weather because everyone at work is flippin sick and AINT NOBODY GOT TIME FOR THAT! So I have been doing everything I can do to stay healthy and so tonight for dinner I decided to make a nice soup. Now if yall remember, there was another butternut squash entry that I attempted in NYC that did not go so well because I only had a 1 cup food processor which couldn’t do the job. Now my cuisinart..psh…he holds 14 cups!! So obviously it was much easier this time.IMG_0034_2Ingredients:


1 large Butternut Squash-peeled and cubed

1 large Carrot-diced
1 Onion-diced
1 Garlic clove-minced
Light Brown Sugar-1 tablespoon
1 Cinnamon stick
32 oz. Vegetable Stock (Tip: Try using 40 oz. because my soup was a little thick)
8 oz. Cream Cheese-softened and cubed
1/2 stick Butter
Salt/Pepper

Directions:
Cut the butternut squash in half and polish both sides with olive oil. Place halves in the oven for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees to soften squash. Remove squash and peel skin and scoop out the seeds. Cut squash into cubes.IMG_0001_2 IMG_0010_2 IMG_0036In a skillet, heat butter and add onion and carrot. Cook for about 5 minutes until tender. Transfer onion, carrot, and squash all to the Crockpot. Mix garlic, light brown sugar, cinnamon stick and vegetable stock in a bowl. Pour mixture into Crockpot. Cover and cook on low for 6-7 hours.IMG_0008IMG_0014Discard cinnamon stick and in small patches, transfer soup to Cuisinart (I used a bowl to help transfer).IMG_0019 Blend mixture until smooth and return to Crockpot. Whisk in cream cheese and cook for about 10 more minutes on low until cheese is melted. IMG_0033I added at this point a couple cloves (mashed) to the pot. The soup could have used more, so if you like cloves, try adding 5-10 for more flavor. Turn Crockpot down to a warm setting.

I recommend getting a baguette and melting some cheese on it and serving it with the soup.IMG_0032I’m a happy camper. It’s funny that as I get older cooking supplies make the perfect christmas gifts 🙂

4 thoughts on “Improved Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Susu is it really hard to cut butternut squash? Do you recommend buying it precut like that?? Sounds good and hearty. Could put some sour cream to finish it off?

    Like

Leave a Reply

