Beef Chuck Roast for the Bro

Hello Crockheads,

Its been pointed out that I haven’t crockpotted since..Feburary? Let me say hold up! I have crockpotted, just nothing new…until last week! Last week was an actual Crockpottuesday…meaning occuring on a Tuesday. Jake just moved down to Charleston about a month ago for college so I had him over along with Danielle and Odom. Now this meal was focused on Jake because he is a huge meat-eater and I wanted to cook something special for him. (College cafeteria food can get old quickly). I was a little nervous about the new recipe though and saw it more of a science experiment and hoped for the best.

Ingredients:
-a beef chuck roast (Intimidating factor number 1. I don’t usually buy a lot of meat, needless to say a big hunk of raw red meat. I also only bought 2 pounds for 4 people and this was not enough. Get about 4 pounds and double below).
-a can of beef broth
-1/4 cup light brown sugar
-1/8 cup Balsamic vinegar
-1 tablespoon Soy Sauce
-salt/pepper
-3 garlic cloves
– zest of 1/2 Orange
-Red potatoes
-Carrots
-Squash/Zucchini

First place the meat, potatoes, and carrots in the crockpot. Then mix all other ingredients together in a bowl to create the sauce. I had never ‘zested’ an orange before…thoroughly enjoyed this part. Then pour the sauce on top and cook everything for 5 hours on low.

image

After 5 hours, add the squash and zucchini and let those sit in the pot for about 2 hours on just a warm setting. Before serving, take the meat out and cut it into serving pieces and then place it back in the pot.

image

At this point I was beginning to feel better about my experiment. The meat had a shiny brown coat on it and smelt like the soy sauce and broth. Odom then helped me with the gravy by taking out cups of the broth and mixing it with flour and spices. image

I served the beef with corn on the cob and those awesome rolls that come in the tinfoil casserole dish. I was pretty impressed with how juicy the meat turned out to be and how good the gravy addition was on top. The one thing I would recommend would be to place the potatoes and carrots under the meat or cut them in half in the beginning because they weren’t as tender as I would have liked. Oh, and get more than 2 pounds so people can have proper seconds! Other than that it was a successful Crockpottuesday with even better company! Glad you’re here Jake! xo
image

image
Any suggestions, future Crockpottuesday plans, ideas, I’m open!
Thanks yall 🙂

11 thoughts on “Beef Chuck Roast for the Bro

  1. If I ever get down to Charleston, that’s what I want–an old fashion Crockpot dinner with niece and nephew, of course. Thanks for recipe.

    Like

  2. that was one of your best crockpottuesday blogs ever. it was about good friends, family and food. perfect combination. all nicely done. jk

    Like

Leave a Reply

