October Chilli

For this week’s Crockpottuesday I knew I wanted to make chilli since the Holy City herself is starting to get chilly. And when I say chilly, I mean low 70s…brrrr. Chilli is a great meal to kick off the fall season and enjoy with good friends. It’s also a meal easy to feed a group of 5 people…including…wait for it…our featured guest RAY BOAZ!! Ray, it was a true pleasure to finally have you join us at Crockpottuesday 😉

My plan was to find a  hearty chilli recipe and then set up a toppings station that my guest could add what they wanted to their bowl. Another key factor for me when searching for the perfect recipe is one that has a cook time of 8hrs. It is so nice to be able to set my crock pot in the morning on a low temperature for 8 hours, work a full day (like a boss) and then come home to a beautiful cooked meal. So below are the ingredients for what I found: (and this serves 6 people)

  • 2 pounds Ground Beef
  • 1 Yellow onion
  • 3 cloves of Garlic, minced
  • 1 can of Kidney beans
  • 1 can of Black beans
  • 4 cups Tomato Sauce
  • 2 cans Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes
  • 3/4 cup Frozen Corn
  • throw is some Green Chiles, minced
  • 2 tablespoons Chili Powder
  • 3 tablespoons Cumin
  • Salt- up to you
  • Pepper- up to you
  • 1 teaspoon Paprika
  • 1 teaspoon Oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Onion Powder
  • Red Pepper Flakes if you’d like

Crockpottuesday this week was on Monday, so on sunday night I prepared everything ahead of time by:

photo_1

Adding the Kidney beans,

photo_2

the black beans,

photo_3

 the green chiles,

photo_4

all of the spices,

photo_5

the fire roasted tomatoes,

photo_6

And then the tomato sauce.

I then placed my crock pot in the fridge and went to bed. On Monday morning I got up early to brown the meat. I also added in the onions and after 5 minutes the garlic.

photo_7

Once the meat was browned, I threw it in the crock pot and added the frozen corn and mixed everything together.

photo_10

Then I set the bad boy on low for 8 hours and walked to work. I have to admit, on my walk to work I laughed out loud thinking to my self, “Damn, this girl has already cooked some meat today and its not even 8:30AM!” Then after a long busy Monday and yoga class with Katie, I was home and it was time for dinner. When my company (Ray, Odom, Katie, and Jay) arrived everything was ready and I really didn’t even have to do anything, but place out the toppings! I served the chilli with fritos, shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, diced onions, black olives, halved grape tomatoes, cilantro, and hot sauce. Oh, and the famous Mama Connie corn bread cassarole…sorry that recipe’s a secret.

I will certainly make this recipe again as it was easy to prep, cooked all day, was filling, and well liked by my people. I thought it was delicous and I can’t even take the credit as my crock pot did all the work! I might even consider making it more spicy as I think I could stand some more heat!

photo_13

 Thank you come again 🙂

7 thoughts on “October Chilli

  1. Such a good night with great people and a chili/cornbread dinner that eased my soul ever so gently into that crisp fall feeling (Heck I even wore a Patagonia.) I’m drooling just thinking about that meal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

