Rich$ in the House!

Happy Friday Y’all! This week’s FRIDAY FEATURE is from one my best friends Richard Jordan. Enjoy below one of his recent recipes!

“What’s up Crockheads?! Rich$ here and I am honored to be a contributing writer for Crockpottuesday’s “Featured Friday”!

If ya didn’t know, ya should, that Susu and I have a lot in common. The main things we like are good friends, good times, and of course good food. Recently, the majority of our communication has been based on different bites we’ve cooked. To sum it up, Susu is my baby girl and best friend.

So, it’s a new year and with the New Year comes resolutions and with resolutions comes the ridiculous struggle with will power to follow through. For example, I said I wanted to make my bed every day for 2014 and that lasted 2 days. 2 days ya’ll, that’s awful. But, I do have one resolution and that is to eat better; not just eat better as a whole, but to remove gluten from my diet as a whole to see if I can get rid of my chronic stomach pains! Yes, it is hard, but as I’ve been going down this path, I’ve realized how many creative alternatives there are for gluten free diets.

Enough about me, let’s get to the good good and talk about a meal I think will satisfy multiple pallets. I’ve taken two of my loves, tacos and BBQ and made what I like to call “Southern Citrus Pork Tacos”. I hear you saying, “What’s in that bad boy?” Well it’s easy!

The Meat:
Medium Boston Butt
2 ½ cups white vinegar
3 oz Dole’s Orange, Pineapple and Banana Juice
Juice of 2 limes
4 cloves of garlic – minced
Salt and Pepper
EVOO

Get a medium sized Boston Butt (Susu stop giggling) and make your marinade with the above ingredients. Let that marinate overnight with the butt so it sucks up all that good citrus juice. The day of, put the booty in the Crockpot and make sure you allot 7-8 hours to cook! When the time has come, the meat literally falls off the bone and shreds with a small turn of a fork.

Next, let’s talk toppings…yeahhh folks, it’d be easy go with your regular sour cream lettuce and tomatoes, but why? Here are the toppings I suggest:

Black Bean Mash
2 cans of black beans
Half of a large white onion
EVOO

Sauté onion with evoo until brown and add 2 cans of un-drained black beans. Simmer for about 15 minutes and then use a spatula to smush the beans into a paste. This should be the first ingredient to touch your corn tortilla. Think of it as the foundation to the masterpiece you’re about to create and devour!

Marinated Red Onions (make the day before)
Half of a large red onion
3 oz. White Vinegar
2 cloves garlic,minced

Mix all above ingredients like a Polaroid picture.This purple relish makes a sweet crunch on top of your taco..freak.yes.

Tomato and Corn Salsa
Handful of cherry tomatoes – halved
Can of white corn
EVOO
Salt and Pepper

Make a little bar for your guest to pick and choose their toppings. I also put out some avocado, (wouldn’t be a susu party without some –cados) cheese, and gluten free corn tortillas.

Ya’ll…this meal was so good. I had my grandmother and mother over to be my guinea pigs and the three of us had no trouble putting these suckers away. This recipe almost made too much, but as a stag, it’s perfect for leftovers. The ONLY setback for me was the pork held a lot more moisture than I expected and made the tortillas a little soggy, but that didn’t stop me from eating three! So out of five pickle spears, I give it a solid four! Easy, delicious, different, and GLUTEN FREE- helping me stick with my resolution. I hope you enjoy my “Southern Citrus Pork Tacos”.”

Thanks Rich$!

20140124-001505.jpg

4 thoughts on “Rich$ in the House!

Leave a Reply

