Redfish

One fish, two fish, blue fish, red fish. Whatch yall know ’bout red fish?? I’ll tell yall what, Ben’s been catching it like crazy out here in Charleston. Again, I can’t give away the secret spot, but it has done us well. Ben went out in his kayak the other day and brought back a big ‘ole red fish and we got to cooking. picstitch (2)

My job was to fillet the fish. After some you-tubing, I learned to make the first incision behind the side fin of the fish and cut up towards the top. Once at the top of the fish, cut down the line of his back. This creates two fillets on either side. I cut very close to the rib cage and slowly separated off the meat. It was a little tricky because I had to pierce through the scales, but the job got done.

Next job-how to cook the thing. There are so many different ways to cook fish and my mind was racing because I wanted the best of the best. My co-worker Clay had recently prepared a fish dish where he baked it in parchment paper. This really intrigued me and still does, but I was without parchment paper and too late to buy some. I am also currently without a grill so that is always out. So then the frying pan, I believed and hoped that I could not go wrong here. I did some research and came up with a Blacked Redfish recipe.

Spices you will need:

Salt, Pepper, Red Pepper, Oregano, Paprika, Basil, and Thyme.

spices

I first dipped each fillet in melted butter. Then I mixed all the spices together and gently rubbed the fillets with the mixture. I heated up just a tiny bit of olive oil in the skillet and then seared the bad boys on each side for probably one minute, they cook very quickly!fish

Meanwhile, Ben had been creating a fancy Burgundy Mushroom Sauce. He heated up some butter (yes we’ve used a lot of butter…we’re Southerners get over it) and threw in mushrooms, green onions, and garlic. mushrooms green onionsThe mushrooms cooked for a good couple of minutes and then Ben added about a half cup of red wine. While this was simmering, he also added some sour cream to thicken the sauce up a bit. After tasting the mushroom sauce, it didn’t have the sweetness kick Ben was hoping for from the wine. He went in the fridge and came out with a spoonful of strawberry jam and mixed it into the pot. Voila! Next, we boiled a pot of water to also have some fresh green beans as another side.

rooms and beansThe whole meal turned out excellent. I think we were both really proud of ourselves and felt like real adults. To be able to eat fish that is caught straight out the water is crazy good. It tastes more heroic and the meal feels like more of an accomplishment. The fish was seasoned perfectly and browned to a crisp with a soft inside. The mushrooms were ridiculous. They were creamy and had enough sauce to pour over the green beans. I think the only thing we need to work on is our plating. Plating food is definitely an artwork and ours looks a little overloaded, but hey we ate every last bite.

instaThe picture below is what Catherine would call “Crockpotwednesday.”
cpt wedHappy Crockpottuesday!photo 5

8 thoughts on “Redfish

Leave a Reply

