Roasted Red Pepper Soup

Crocks, Whatchu know about soup weather. It’s hur! This roasted red pepper soup is great with a good ole fashioned grilled cheese. If you like red peppers you will love this soup. If you don’t, you will hate it, it tastes exactly like a red pepper and some other stuff.

Ingredients:

  • 4 large red bell peppers
  • Olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 celery sticks, trimmed and sliced
  • 3 tablespoons coarsely chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 3 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream

First cover those suckers in olive oil so they shine like a baby’s bottom. Smooth as a baby’s bottom. Same thing. Make them shine.IMG_0002Next roast the peppers in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes on each side until soft and blackened. Mine still weren’t very blacked after the allotted time so I also broiled them on a high setting for about 5 minutes longer on each side. IMG_0001IMG_0005Once ready, pull out of the oven and cover in tin foil to steam for 10 minutes. Then remove foil and allow to cool. When touchable, peel off the skins and pop out the green stem and seeds. This will call for some careful dissecting.

Now for creating the soup. In a large pot over medium heat, add some olive oil and toss in the onions and garlic. Cook for about 5 minutes until the onions are clear. Next, add the carrots, celery, and parsley- about 3 minutes longer. IMG_0004Then put in your cumin and bay leaf. The original recipe I was following also called for garam masala, but I did not have this so left it out, otherwise add 1/2 a teaspoon. Stir to combine all and then add your roasted pepper chucks and stock.IMG_0006Cover and turn heat to low. Let simmer for 20 minutes until carrots and celery soften. Your nose will tell you when it’s ready. IMG_0008Now for the disaster. I transferred the soup to my food processor oh so carefully, made sure the lid was on tight, pressed pulse, and red pepper hot ass soup flew all over me and my kitchen. My food processor was and is broken!!! WHO KNEW. I feel like I get myself in these situations a lot. I immediately became pissed and my ‘hanger’ levels really started to surface. I think for these reasons people HATE cooking. Somehow, I managed to clean everything up though and place a dish cloth around the lid and finish pureeing the soup. I then transferred everything back to the pot on the stove, stirred in the heavy cream, added salt and pepper to taste, and ate a Oreo to calm my nerves (was out of wine).IMG_0009

All in all, my two *scents*- let the final product marinate overnight, it’s twice as better the next day. Oh and have a proper working food processor or an immersion blender would even be better. Note: must invest. That night I would say it was descent. I ate a full bowl and even had seconds, but it did seem bland. However, I did pack the soup for lunch the next day and it tasted like a new soup! I’m talking Trader Joe’s worthy. I brought Fallon a tuber ware of it too and she was happy. I think the flavors just needed some extra time to really come through and say hey, I’m here to party.

One thought on “Roasted Red Pepper Soup

Leave a Reply

